December 8, 2010

Wheat Is Everywhere You Don't Want It To Be - Glucose Syrup

Just a quick note to inform the wheat free and gluten free among us about yet another ingredient which contains wheat:
It has sadly come to my attention that Glucose Syrup, that ever popular ingredient, is usually made with wheat in Europe unless otherwise stated. This is not relevant to American products which generally use corn only European, but do be cautious either way.
Unless otherwise stated all people allergic to both wheat and gluten should refrain from European products which contain Glucose Syrup. In addition, corn free diets should obviously be aware of glucose syrup in the reverse. Yes, I know that this takes away just about everything tasty.. but I'll work harder trying to find you substitutes! Sorry to be the barer of bad news but there it is...

No comments: