June 30, 2011
I will keep this short and promise to report back when I can suss out more secure answers! From what I can gather there are two soya based gelati in store which are suspected to be dairy free. My sister had the vanilla last week and reported that it was amazing (she also didn’t have an allergic reaction so this is a positive to its dairy free quality!). The girls in the shop told me that the hazelnut is also made with soya – happy days! My sister subsequently reported that the hazelnut tastes divine, but vanilla (her all-time favourite) still reigns. I am also confident that the hazelnut is Dairy free because there has been no reaction to date and when I was in the shop a customer ordered regular hazelnut which the server took from a different tub… feeling confident yet? Hmmm...
Anyway, After a bit of confusion regarding the term ‘dairy free’ I was asking the second server, who had a better grasp on what I was looking for, if the gelati was dairy free, gluten free and/or egg free... she said yes to all (and volunteered thats it's vegetarian) after reading some tubs of ‘flavour/mix’? – Now is when I start to doubt – I wonder does the container state the information clearly in a warning label or is she looking for the exact words ‘gluten’ or ‘egg’ in the ingredient list and not thinking of derivatives… I ask if I could read the container but she doesn’t seem to understand my meaning/desire.
Next in Doubting Central, I try to find a website which might contain some clear information. I can’t find anything for the Dublin branch. I find a UK website with very different graphics, and a separate facebook page so I think that ‘Gino, The Art of Gelato’ is a separate company which a suspiciously similar name.
Back in Ireland, Gino’s advertises as ‘Homemade Italian Gelato’ which seems to suggest traditional methods...
I continue to comb through the web only to find that traditional ‘yellow’ toned gelato contains egg yolks as it is made with a custard base and while we’re talking traditional recipes, there is also usually butterfat included... hmmmm.
Finally, just for added frustration, the Dublin Gino’s facebook page lists the website: www.ginosicecream.com but it doesn’t seem to exist! If you search further on the facebook page it will bring you to www.ginosgelato.com … at last... however, the flavours link isn’t working – one break is all I ask for! Lol!
So the temporary verdict is two amazing Dairy free flavours based on the fact that they are both made with soya and my dairy free sister did not experience a reaction.
I have emailed the company and hope to get a solid answer in return and, of course, I will update you as soon as possible!
34B Grafton Street
tel: (01) 201 1703